I Am My Own Little Guardian

When I created I Am My Own Guardian back in 2012 I had no idea that this work would resonate with so many people. I did not expect that it would reach far and wide. Thank you social media for dispersing my political messages. Because if I kept my work confined within the white alienating walls of art institutions it would have not gone this far.

Explaining the "I Am My Own Guardian" t-shirt to a seven year old. Gendered language is inescapable in Saudi Arabia. Men are men, they are expected to dress, talk, walk, and behave a certain way. And women are women, they are expected to dress, talk, walk, and behave a certain way. Dressing up a woman in a man's headdress can be confusing.

Explaining the “I Am My Own Guardian” t-shirt to a seven year old. Gendered language is inescapable in Saudi Arabia. Men are men, they are expected to dress, talk, walk, and behave a certain way. And women are women, they are expected to dress, talk, walk, and behave a certain way. Dressing up a woman in a man’s headdress can be confusing.

I Am My Own Little Guardian

I Am My Own Little Guardian

I Am My Own Little Guardian
I Am My Own Little Guardian

I Am My Own Little Guardian

I Am My Own Little Guardian

I Am My Own Little Guardian

have your say

